A Family For Every Child
A Family For Every Child
Donate Now FAMILY LOGIN Contact Us
Facebook Twitter Linked In YouTube
 
Pinterest Instagram Blog

For further information, please call 877-343-2856 or email matching@afamilyforeverychild.org
Sarah and Dana
Sarah and Dana

Sarah and Dana
Oregon

Basic Info

Sarah

Age: 33
Sex: Female
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: None

Dana

Age: 39
Sex: Male
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Religion: None

Child Preferences

Age: 2 to 12 years old
Sex: Either
Max Number of Children: 2
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian, African American, Asian, Native American, Hispanic, Pacific Islander


Special Needs the Family is Open To: Mild Physical/Medical Disability (Open to Discussion)

Environment

State: Oregon
Neighborhood: Suburban
Residency:
Years Together: 11
Children in the Home: 0
Pet(s): Dog(s), cat(s)

Work

Sarah

Occupation: Customer Service

Dana

Occupation: City Carrier Assistant

Adoption Agency

Agency: A Family For Every Child
Worker: Rosalind Trotter
City: Eugene
State: Oregon
Zip: 97402

Family Description

We are an active out going married couple who also knows how to relax, looking to grow our family. We hope to provide a loving safe home to siblings between 2-12.

Preference Description

We are looking to adopt a sibling pair between the ages of 2 and 12 years old, of any ethnic background. We are willing to accept minor or medically correctable conditions, we are willing to discuss special needs.

The Dickinson Family Profile

We are looking to add 1-2 kids to our family, under the age of 12. Either boy or girl, or both! We would love to provide a home for some siblings or a single.

We have no preference on race, we feel that we can accept any and all children of all backgrounds.

We are open to children with some special needs, minor or medically correctable conditions. Open to discuss further if we are a good fit.

We are open to some contact with birth family if its in the best interest of the children.

About Us

We are Sarah and Dana Dickinson!

Sarah is 32 years old, she currently works at Grain Millers in Eugene as a Customer Service and Logistics Representative. It is a full time position, but is also flexible.

Dana is 37 years old and currently works for the United States Post office as a City Carrier Assistant. He's currently working his way up to getting his own route delivering mail. As an assistant his job/hours are not very flexible, but once he has his own route his hours will be more consistent.

We have been together for 11 years, married for a little over 8 years and consider each other best friends.

We tend to balance each other, Sarah is more active and organized, Dana is more mellow and chill. We both tend to be more on the silly side than the serious side, we know when its appropriate and really enjoy making jokes instead of being serious all the time. We both do well with routine, and would be able to provide a structured environment.

When we are not working, we enjoy to hike, ride bikes, kayak, camp, fish, play with our dogs and be outside as much as we can. We do enjoy mellow days as well just reading or doing crafts.

We like to take little trips, up to Portland, Seattle, and over to the coast.

We both really enjoy baking, anything sweet is our downfall and hard to say no to. Cooking is something Sarah needs to work on, although we do make mac'n'cheese and hot dogs quite often so we already eat like kids!

Home and Community

We currently live in a 3 bedroom house located in West Eugene. The house is situated in a nice quiet cul-de-sac towards the end of the street, so there is not much traffic passing by.

The neighborhood is close to both an Elementary and Middle School, and contains plenty of other children to play with/be around.

Eugene has plenty of activities for families, as well as several big parks that are safe and fun. We are also close to a couple swimming pools and activity centers.

It may not be a big city, but it is pretty close to Portland which has the Zoo, OMSI and the childrens museum.

We have 2 dogs and 2 cats, we love animals and hope to have goats and chickens in the future.

Parenting Experience

We may not have much experience being parents since we have not had the chance too, but we do have plenty of experience with helping/being around our nieces and nephew. We have 6 nieces and 1 nephew between the ages of 6 and 15. All of which we've had the pleasure of watching and helping as they grow up. We took the Foundation classes that were required, but will be looking into future classes to help provide more education.

We've been reading all recommended books and watching webinars to help further our education.

Support

We are surrounded by a lot of family in the area. Dana's family may not be close by, but they are within a couple hours drive. Of Sarah's family, both her parents are within 5 miles, as well as her sister lives close by, followed by her brother who is only 10miles away. All our siblings have kids, and are very accepting and willing to help anyway they can.

Eugene has plenty of counseling options, group or individual, that we'll be able to find one that is a good fit to us and the kids. There is also a Head start program close by, and we have several school options nearby that can accommodate any need that the children may have.

Motivation to Adopt

We have been talking about taking this step for years, even before we got married adoption was something we both were very open about. When we found we were not able to get pregnant, we took that as a sign that we were meant to adopt, we would love to be able to provide a loving home for a child(ren) in need.